Blogtober Day 14 : My Ambitious Fall/Winter TBR

Share Button

Hi everyone… A warm welcome to Day 14 of #blogtober. It’s officially fall, okay not in India, but the rest of the world does celebrate this magical season.

Autumnal leaves, overrated pumpkin spiced latte, the whimsical rusty orange hues, and that slight nip in the air. It’s the perfect weather to curl in bed with a big cup of chai and have an extended reading fiesta.

Fall/ Winter TBR
Enjoy this glorious weather with some amazing reads!

So here’s my Fall/Winter TBR with a happy mix of historical fiction, spooky reads, and some romance.

1.Little Fires Everywhere – Celeste Ng

A story about race, ethnicity, and how every individual chooses different paths in life, Little Fires Everywhere is a great story about strong female characters. If you’re in the mood of something deep, this seems to be a beautiful story.

best books for fall
Have heard nothing but praise for this one!

2. You – Caroline Kepnes

This is a creepy one and I’m most excited for. ‘You’ is the story of a guy, Joe who starts obsessing over a girl, Beck. It’s the story of Joe and Beck and how he transitions from a stalker to a boyfriend. Told in third person, this one is said to make you quite uncomfortable making it a perfect Halloween style read.

fall book recommendations
We all that need some spine chilling reads in fall.
Image Source – depop

3. Gemina –Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The second installment in the Illuminae files trilogy. It’s sci-fi mixed with fast paced action, what else can we ask for. Oh, and did I tell you just like the first book this one is also told in an unusual format of – interviews, coded intercepts, military files, emails etc.

gemina
Sci-Fi plus a lot of drama!
Image Source – acourtofcrownsandquills

Here are some other amazing sci-fi book recommendations. 

4. The Forty Rules of Love – Elif Shafak

This one is a lyrical story of a forty year old woman, who’s in an unhappy marriage. When she takes up the job of a reader for a literary agent, things are bound to change.

best books for winter
Mornings at home!

An unusual love story that’s backed by philosophies of Rumi and has a rustic charm, I think this will be a great birthday read. Deep, meaningful, and touching, that’s what I’ve heard.

5. Lying in Wait – Liz Nugent

You can never have enough thrillers for this season, so here’s another one. Have read so many good things about this one. It’s the story of a wealthy Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are revealed to create havoc.

fall/winter tbr
Adding yet another thriller to the list!
Image Source – mini adventures

6. The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

There’s something about the weather that I’m in the mood for historical fictions. Also the high rating of Goodreads are just the added push.

The Nightingale is a heart wrenching story of two sisters set in the 1940s France, when Nazis invaded. The two sisters are battling their own fears while the world outside is burning. I’ve heard nothing but praise for this one, so keeping my fingers crossed in anticipation.

the nightingale
Prettiness galore.
Image Source – parchment girl

7. Girl Made of Stars – Ashley Herring Blake

I needed a tear jerker, so added Girl Made of Stars. It’s a story of twins Mara and Owen. Mara’s best friend accuses her twin brother of rape and her world comes tumbling down. Mara is torn between her best friend and her twin brother in what seems a rather emotional situation.

best books for fall/ winter
Keep tissues handy while reading this one..
Image Source – howling libraries

8. What If It’s Us – Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

We all need some LGBT romance to devour! And what better way than amalgamation of two amazing LGBT authors? Becky Albertalli’s writing which is full of sarcasm and wit, and Adam Silvera is known to unleash all the feels – this is going to be an amazing concoction. Eagerly awaiting the release later this month.

what if its us review
Two of my faavvv YA authors.
Image Source – Scorpio book dreams

9. All the Missing Girls – Megan Miranda

If you’re in the mood for a goth thriller, All the Missing Girls is the perfect pick, or so I’ve heard. The story traces the disappearance of two young women, a decade apart. And the best part, it is told in reverse.

all the missing girls
Supremely excited for this!
Image Source – donnajostone

10. Far from the Tree – Robin Benway

After all the historical fiction and thrillers, I needed a heartwarming family tale and Far from the Tree sounds apt! It’s a story of three siblings who’ve been adopted into three different families and backgrounds. And now as teens they meet for the first time to find their biological mother and develop a beautiful bond.

fall/winter tbr
There’s always place on my TBR for a family drama.
Image Source – wbur.org

Let me know what’s on your Fall/Winter TBR or if you’re interested in buddy reading any of these books. I’ll see you tomorrow with yet another post, until then – happiness and peace….

Share Button

Fall/Winter TBR

Share Button

Hiii!

Welcome back. With the start of the new month, new energies are flowing. Starting the birthday month with a bookish post!

Technically it is fall all over the world. Although Delhi is still considerably hot, but let’s pretend that we have pretty autumn leaves all over. During this season I gravitate towards some serious and heavy reads – emotional dramas, psychological thrillers, horror, and creepy mysteries.

fall/winter tbr
How I wish we had dreamy autumn in India as well.
Source – luxuryfitness. tumblr

So here’s my Fall/ Winter TBR

  1. Bag of Bones – Stephen King

I’ve been gathering courage to read IT (the epic horror book, now a movie by Stephen King). But after reading the reviews, I thought it would be a good idea to prep my mind with some other book by the same author.

Bag of Bones Stephen King
Finally being brave enough to read a Stephen King.
Source – bing

Bag of Bones is a murder mystery, and Stephen King is known to be the king of horror and mystery so I am hoping this sets the mood right.

2. Between Shades of Gray – Ruta Sepetys

It is a historical fiction book that traces the characters’ journey through World War II. Certainly a heavy and daunting read, but I’ve heard so many good things about it that this had to be on my list. Promises to make you cry, change you, and leave a deep impact on you.

between shades of gray
Looking forward to this emotional roller coaster.
Source – quote book blogger

3. Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – Benjamin Alire Saenz

This coming of age YA is something that everybody loves. So I thought let’s find what the hype is all about. The story is about Aristotle and Dante, two teen boys who have nothing in common, yet find a world waiting to be explored together and develop a special friendship. It is said to be quite emotional, perfect for winters.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Can we take a minute to appreciate the pretty cover.
Source – dianewantstowrite

4. A Dog’s Purpose – W. Bruce Cameron

When nothing else works, hug your dog. But when doggie is sleeping, what to do? Read doggie books. A Dog’s Purpose is a now a movie, but I want to read the book before watching it.

It has doggies, happiness, and some more doggies. What else can I say – sounds perfect for a crazy dog lady like me!

A Dog's Purpose
What can be better than reading a doggie book and cuddling your doggieeee!
Source – bloglovin

5. The Girlfriend – Michelle Frances

Off late I’ve been adding a lot of psychological thrillers to my TBR list. It traces the relation of Laura and her son Daniel. But when Daniel finds a girlfriend, Cherry, things become chaotic and unruly. It is perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (which I really liked).

The Girlfriend
The addictive psychological thriller!
Source – BooksoverBlumen

6. A Thousand Boy Kisses – Tillie Cole

After some heavy reads, you need a breather and what better than a light fluffy YA. It is a tearjerker romance, about Rune and Poppy – their bonding that neither time nor distance can break.

The cover and the blurb are giving me happy fuzzy feels already! Super excited.

A Thousand Boy Kisses
You’re never too old for a cheesy romance. Source – shewhomustnotbenamed93.blogspot.com

7. A Quiet Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard

It’s been a while since I read an emotional contemporary book. This one suits the deal perfectly, it is about mental health and love and friendship. It’s a fluffy love story that deals with some serious topics. I think should be fun to read while soaking up the winter sun.

A Quiet Kind Of Thunder
Perfect Vacay Setting.
Source – SprinkledPages

Do let me know what’s on your winter TBR and if you have any creepy book recommendations. I hope you have a great month ahead.  See you soon 🙂

Share Button